Periscope

A few observations here:

I liked the  Facebook post that Matthew Sweeney wrote on the  strange effects of social media particularly instagram asana  and video, has on the perception of what is yoga sadhana. I am not posting a link to his post because it has been shared by blogs and sites way bigger than this one and my take is that if you have not seen it yet, maybe it is not that interesting to you in particular. I find that this week there is an interesting gathering of topics online about yoga visuals. On one hand there is a petition from Matthew Remski asking for the non glamorous photos of a yoga teacher’s life and I am not clued in enough to figure out if it is ironic or not. On the other hand I finally watched a Periscope feed of Kino’s third series practice and missed most of the asana by being distracted by the disgusting comments on the feed. It was debilitating to read while the  sexually aroused commenters were alerting each other that she was online and to come and join.  It was pretty depressing to see someone’s yoga sadhana misused for that purpose. Do I know what to do about it, or do I know if it is right to stop periscoping because of perverts highjacking your feed? No. I also know that before there was social media and yoga was unknown, the fortunate ones found the yoga. Today in spite of all the distortions of yoga in social media, the fortunate ones will still find the yoga. The most constant detail that I have found during my 9 years of observing my practice and those that join me and those that sometimes times leave it, is noticing that those of us who remain  speak of being found by yoga instead of us “discovering” or finding it. So that’s how I think it works, in spite of all the distractions, and wether your teacher poses for promotional shots, or is instagram/twitter/promotional obsessed, you keep present there are 8 limbs, you are fortunate to know this, you are not cooler than those that don’t care or know, and only one of those limbs thank goodness is instagramable.

One thought on “Periscope

Leave a Reply

