Things I read and Remembered

“Argue for your limitations and you get to keep them” Unknown  (to me at least)

“Basically your fear acts like a mall cop who thinks he’s a navy SEAL: He hasn’t slept in days, He’s all hopped up on Red Bull and he’s liable to shoot at his own shadow in an absurd effort to keep everybody *safe*. ”  Elizabeth Gilbert

The following is a take away from a very long post that Grimmly wrote  recently:

No matter how authorized and how certified, or how gifted without neither of those two things your teacher is, or how many times you have gone to study at the source, eventually you will have to do the work alone and by yourself.

And this from the feed of  the Ashtanga home practitioners network Facebook feed:

“I get it. Working this system is like counting dog years. 7 years of human practice = 1 ashtanga year.” Stanka Kordic

I begin my 8th ashtanga anniversary year today as we celebrate Shivaratri  this evening on this new moon.

You know you have been around for a bit when you see the fourth cycle of a post accusing Guruji of abuse like it was a newly discovered  bombshell that no one heard the first 3 times. Not only have I no way to verify if it is true or not, but I also have no idea why this gets recycled by people whom I know have published it several times as well without the result they seem to seek out.

One thought on “Things I read and Remembered

  1. “I get it. Working this system is like counting dog years. 7 years of human practice = 1 ashtanga year.” Stanka Kordic

    Like this…… and there’s a “Ashtanga home practitioners network”, how didn’t I know this.

    Think I’m coming up to nine this month, so a year and a bit……, puts things into perspective somewhat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

