Kapha problems

So the first 21 days of the year have been productive in the health department (both physical and mental). Camp Calm is going really well, I’ve learned to do something called chi-running on a treadmill which has done wonders for understanding the logistics of core  strength and steadiness for movement and consequently I no longer hate the first 8 Suryas which were formerly the price I had to pay to get to the “good” part of practicing. I have also been on board with a saatvic diet and have learned to use hing ( thank you Kate O’Donnell). Today however I am having a mental crisis that involves food daydreaming. I don’t know if it is because I have been homebound with a snotty cold for four days, or because a snow storm is coming, but all I want is to make and eat white food this weekend.

I think I am not alone when I reveal that most of my comfort food is white or beige. Examples of what I am daydreaming:

White rice with “pegao” (the toasted crunchy bits on the bottom of the pot) and a perfectly fried egg on top.

Grilled cheese (provolone, cheddar, and mozzarella  with Challah bread)

Cacio e Pepe (pasta with pecorino romano and a ton of pepper). This is always my answer to what would be your last meal  on this earth.

cheese fondue, real boozy with lots of crusty wave hill bread

A baked potato with lots of butter and horseradish

and a plain yellow cake I cannot make because I never asked the only person who could make it right for the recipe.

The only thing that will save me from these hallucinations is that I am too scared to go to a supermarket before a snowstorm.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kapha problems

    • Hing is also called Asofetida and it is a powder from some plant that replaces the flavor of onions and garlic. Strong stuff that stays in your fingertips and I’ve learned to use a spoon/tip of a knife. Chi-running by Danny Dreyer- a whole book on how to integrate the principles of tai-chi (needle in cotton= strong center/middle and loose relaxed extremities) to ease your efforts during exercise. I found out later that youtube was all I needed but the book is a good resource. I am fasting today and all I can think of is hot toddies and cheese fondue. >

      Like

Leave a Reply

